Canteen cover

We’ve got 10 signed copies of Canteen’s new cookbook to win! Canteen is a distinctly British restaurant concept, serving top-quality British dishes across 4 London locations. Competition details below – entry deadline: 17th March 2010.

Group Shot

Founders Cass Titcombe, Patrick Clayton-Malone and Dominic Lake (pictured above) opened the first Canteen in 2005 in Spitalfields, championing proper ‘unapologetically nostalgic’ British food such as devilled kidneys on toast, potted duck, pork pies, and treacle tart. Since then, further locations have opened in Royal Festival Hall, Baker Street, and Canary Wharf.


This new cookbook, published by Ebury Press, comprises a collection of 120 British recipes, paying homage to Canteen’s signature dishes and resurrecting the country’s tradition for affordable honest food. The book opens with All Day Breakfast, including recipes ranging from rhubarb compote with yoghurt and granola to eggs florentine and hot buttered Arbroath smokies.


Canteen have a number of tasty starters, small dishes and soups. A sizable portion of the book is given over to meat and fish main courses, as well as recipes for their favourite dish – the pie – including steak and kidney as well as more adventurous creations such as duck, chestnut and prune, or squash, chard and sage.


Not forgetting puddings and desserts, recipes include apple brandy syllabub, Eton Mess, chocolate beetroot cake, and the mighty cheesecake with hazelnut brittle.


Of course, the design of the restaurants plays a significant role, the strength of which deemed Canteen a perfect candidate for our restaurant suggestions within LONDON DESIGN GUIDE. Subsequently, LDG editor Max Fraser was invited to write about the Canteen design approach in the introductory pages of the cookbook (pictured below).


COMPETITION: To win one of 10 signed copies of Canteen’s Great British Food, simply email your name and delivery address to with ‘Canteen’ in the subject line.

Competition closes at midnight on 17th March 2010. Ten winners will be chosen at random and notified by email on 18th March. The competition is open to readers from any country and books will be dispatched to the delivery address you supply.

THIS COMPETITION IS NOW CLOSED. Congratulations to the 10 winners: Jackson Gore; Claire Hartley; John Bibey; Bella Ludgate; Joss McKinley; Annika Nordblom; Leslie Weissen; Katherina Davydova; Rebecca Groves; Karen Coughlan.

Stay informed of future competitions by signing up to our monthly newsletter.

Tags | | | | | |

Comments are closed.